The Lucy Wilson Mysteries + CompetitionBookmark and Share

Sunday, 1 October 2023 - Reported by Chuck Foster
The Mystery of Lucy Wilson - Apocalypse Tomorrow (Credit: Candy Jar Books)

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries - The Web of Terror (Credit: Candy Jar Books)

Candy Jar Books has announced a simultaneous release of the next two instalments of the Lucy Wilson series, available for pre-order, exclusively from the Candy Jar website.

The first release in this double-header is entitled Apocalypse Tomorrow, and it serves as the epic conclusion of The Mystery of Lucy Wilson arc, which has seen Lucy separated from her best friend Hobo by the small matter of several decades and one apocalypse.

The Mystery of Lucy Wilson: Apocalypse Tomorrow

Written by Steve Walton and Shaun Russell


Lucy Wilson’s adventures in time have taken her to some strange places. Dangerous places, faraway places… But none so strange and alien as where she finds herself now… The 1990s.

Pokémon battle in the schoolyards. Tamagotchi roam the streets. And a giant spider from a ruined future looks to spark an apocalypse that, technically, has already happened.

Timelines converge and realities shattered as Lucy’s exile in time reaches its epic climax. And in the end, it all comes down to one question: who’s better, 2Unlimited or Adamski?


Available to purchase from the Candy Jar website.

Serving as a coda to this storyline,The Web of Terror starts off on more familiar ground: Lucy’s home in sleepy Ogmore-by-Sea. But humanity’s last line of defence doesn’t get many off days: soon she’s confronted by a foe from her past. Or more precisely, several of her pasts…

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: The Web of Terror

Written by Paul W Robinson and Shaun Russell


Lucy Wilson thought that her run-in with killer spiders was over after her time in Australia! But soon strange happenings on Ogmore-by-Sea beach set her skin crawling once again…

Still, whether trapped in a spaceship, abducted by a familiar face, or hunted by space pandas, Lucy’s just glad to have her best friend Hobo back by her side.

But the past has a way of catching up with you. Can Lucy escape the enemy that she thought she’d left behind long ago?


Available to purchase from the Candy Jar website.

With the arc juggling multiple timelines and locations, tying a bow on this storyline soon spilled over the bounds of a single book, which prompted the decision to release these novels simultaneously.As Shaun Russell explained:

On one level, Apocalypse Tomorrow and The Web of Terror are two very different stories. What unites them, however, is that they see the characters of Lucy and Hobo rediscovering themselves – both as individuals and as a team. At this point, they’ve been separated for several books, and their reunion is not straightforward. We didn’t want to provide the readers with the setup while withholding the payoff; by the conclusion of these stories, we’re ready to kick of a distinct new phase in Lucy and Hobo’s adventures. But as we needed both novels to get there, we decided, why not release them together?

It's an ambitious conclusion, which sees (at least) three different timelines collide. But as co-author Steve Walton continued, that’s just one of the exciting aspects of writing for these characters:

Time travel, intergalactic spaceships, multidimensional beings… It’s all just a day in the life for Lucy Wilson! It’s the nature of storytelling to take a character from one familiar situation, and into a strange new one – and there’s no characters where you have more scope to do so! We went as big as possible with these stories, particularly with the conclusion of Apocalypse. But I think most of all I enjoyed playing with the idea of Lucy being dropped into the 1990s, a place somehow all the stranger for its seeming familiarity.

Co-author Paul W Robinson followed Apocalypse Tomorrow with The Web of Terror - tying up a few loose end, this book also sends Lucy on her very first adventure to an alien planet. Paul said:

I felt it was about time that Lucy and Hobo travelled beyond the earth’s atmosphere. It was fascinating creating a brand new world, while thrusting Lucy into her very own Hunger Games–style mystery.





Candy Jar Books are offering readers in the UK a chance to win both of the Lucy Wilson books, plus the hardback Lethbridge-Stewart relase of The Grandfather Infestation: The Illustrated Edition, and a signed copy of Jill Curzon 2023 A.D.


In keeping with the spider theme of the books, simply answer the following question:

Name the planet the Doctor and Sarah travel to in Planet of the Spiders.

Send your answer to with the subject line "Om mani padme hum". Competition closes on Sunday 15th October.