Voting opens for the 2016 National Television AwardsBookmark and Share

Tuesday, 6 October 2015 - Reported by Chuck Foster
Voting has now opened for the twenty-first National Television Awards, the annual ceremony that takes place in January with award-winners chosen by the British viewing public.

Doctor Who is up against nineteen other candidates for the Drama category, facing off many of the usual suspects on British Television. This year it is the only sci-fi series amidst the period and contemporary drama series, detective shows, etc. - a number of which see their final series broadcast this year: DCI Banks, Casualty, The Fall, Death in Paradise, Vera, Last Tango in Halifax, Suspects, Downton Abbey, Lewis, This is England '90, Inspector George Gently, Broadchurch, New Tricks, Silent Witness, Call The Midwife, Doc Martin, Mr Selfridge, Midsomer Murders, and The Syndicate.

Meanwhile, its a case of three Doctors in the Drama Performance category this year, with Peter Capaldi, David Tennant and Christopher Eccleston all nominated. The recently combined category also features current sidekick Jenna Coleman, plus a number of other actors and actresses who have had guest roles in the series over its ten years back on air. All-in-all there are some fifty-eight nominations in this category, so competition for the shortlist will be fierce!

Ray Winstone as Jimmy Rose (The Trials of Jimmy Rose); Julia McKenzie as Shirley Mollison (The Casual Vacancy); Stephen Tomkinson as DCI Alan Banks (DCI Banks); Lenny Henry as Godfrey Watson (The Syndicate); Richard Dormer as Dan Anderson (Fortitude); Jenna Coleman as Clara Oswald (Doctor Who); Mark Bazeley as Bob Simms (Home Fires); Derek Thompson as Charlie Fairhead (Casaulty); Larry Lamb as Ted Case (New Tricks); Olivia Colman as DS Ellie Miller (Broadchurch); Helen George as Trixie Franklin (Call the Midwife); Tom Goodman-Hill as Joe (Humans); Kris Marshall as DI Humphrey Goodman (Death in Paradise); Claire Rushbrook as Pat Simms (Home Fires); Amanda Redman as Jackie Rose (The Trials of Jimmy Rose); Gemma Chan as Anita (Humans); Daniel Mays as Samuel Pepys (The Great Fire); Jessica Raine as Tuppence Beresford (Partners in Crime); Jenny Agutter as Sister Julienne (Call The Midwife); Michael Palin as Tom Parfitt (Remember Me); Hugh Bonneville as Lord Grantham (Downton Abbey); Sheridan Smith as Jo Gillespie (Black Work); Dennis Waterman as Gerry Standing (New Tricks); Jo Joyner as Beth Corbin (Ordinary Lies); Elizabeth Berrington as Dawn Stevenson (The Syndicate); Jim Carter as Mr. Carson (Downton Abbey); Mark Rylance as Thomas Cromwell (Wolf Hall); Michelle Keegan as Tracy (Ordinary Lies); Sarah Lancashire as Caroline (Last Tango in Halifax); Christopher Eccleston as Robert/Charlie Stoddart (Safe House/Fortitude); Aidan Turner as Ross Poldark (Poldark); Eddie Marsan as Gilbert Norrell (Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell); Abigail Lawrie as Krystal Weedon (The Casual Vacancy); Arsher Ali as George Edalji (Arthur and George); Brenda Blethyn as DCI Vera Stanhope (Vera); Andrew Buchan as Thomas Farriner (The Great Fire); Jeremy Piven as Harry Selfridge (Mr Selfridge); Suranne Jones as Gemma Foster (Doctor Foster); Peter Capaldi as The Doctor (Doctor Who); Bertie Carvel as Simon Foster/Jonathan Strange (Doctor Foster/Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell); Jamie Dornan as Paul Spector (The Fall); Neil Dudgeon as DCI John Barnaby (Midsomer Murders); Eleanor Tomlinson as Damelza Poldark (Poldark); Kevin Whately as DI Robert Lewis (Lewis); Vicky McClure as Lol (This is England '90); David Tennant as DI Alec Hardy (Broadchurch); Emilia Fox as Dr. Nikki Alexander (Silent Witness); Amanda Abbington as Miss Mardle (Mr Selfridge); Gillian Anderson as DSI Stella Gibson (The Fall); Martin Shaw as Inspector George Gently (Inspector George Gently); Michelle Dockery as Lady Mary Crawley (Downton Abbey); Julie Walters as Cynthia Coffin (Indian Summers); David Walliams as Tommy Beresford (Partners in Crime); Damien Maloney as DS Jack Weston (Suspects); James Nesbitt as Tony Hughes (The Missing); Martin Clunes as Dr Martin Ellingham/Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Doc Martin/Arthur and George); Nicola Walker as Gillian (Last Tango in Halifax); and Damian Lewis as Henry VIII (Wolf Hall)

You can vote in the nominations until the 18th October, with the shortlist announced in January. The ceremony itself will take place on 20th January in London's O2 Arena.

Doctor Who and its stars have been a regular fixture in the National Television Awards since the series returned in 2005. The show, which has been nominated at every ceremony, won five consecutive awards between 2005 and 2010 (the NTAs weren't held in 2009), and the regained the crown in 2014; Doctors Christopher Eccleston won in 2005, David Tennant in 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2010, and Matt Smith in 2012 and 2014; co-stars Billie Piper won an award in 2005 and 2006, and Karen Gillan in 2012. Tennant also received a Special Recognition award this year in January's ceremony. And though the show didn't win anything in 2011, it did feature in the ceremony's opening sequence with a special sketch featuring Matt Smith and Dermot O'Leary.