Doctor Who wins BAFTA AwardBookmark and Share

Sunday, 18 May 2014 - Reported by Marcus
The Doctor Who fiftieth anniversary story The Day of the Doctor won the Radio Times Audience Award at the 2014 BAFTA Television Awards this evening.

The special, starring Matt Smith, David Tennant and John Hurt, won the award based on the votes of Radio Times readers, beating Breaking Bad, Gogglebox, The Great British Bake Off, Broadchurch and Educating Yorkshire.

The award was collected by the current Head of Drama at BBC Wales and Executive Producer for the special, Faith Penhale, along with Producer Marcus Wilson and Director Nick Hurran.

Penhale paid tribute to showrunner Steven Moffat, saying:
His ideas and his imagination support the show and guide the show, and we are really grateful to him.

But this award is for anybody who has had a hand in Doctor Who over the last fifty years. Last year we celebrated our anniversary so this is really special.
Doctor Who last won the audience award in 2006 when it was given the Pioneer Audience Award for Best Programme of 2005.

The drama based on the origins of Doctor Who, An Adventure in Space and Time, missed out on the award for Best Single Drama, which was won by Channel 4's Complicit.

The man who played William Hartnell in the drama, David Bradley, did win an award, although not for that role, winning Best Supporting Actor for his part in Broadchurch.

Broadchurch, which stars David Tennant, also won for Best Drama Series. Other winners included Olivia Colman as Leading Actress for Broadchurch, Sarah Lancashire as Best Supporting Actress for Last Tango in Halifax and James Corden whose Sky series A League Of Their Own won Best Comedy and Comedy Entertainment Programme.

The academy also took time to remember some members of the industry who have died over the past year, including Christopher Barry, Edna Doré, James Ellis, Roger Lloyd Pack, Kate O’Mara and Aubrey Woods.

FILTER: - Awards/Nominations