Voting opens for the 2014 National Television AwardsBookmark and Share

Tuesday, 17 September 2013 - Reported by Chuck Foster
Voting has now opened for the nineteenth National Television Awards, and it wouldn't be a ceremony if Doctor Who and its stars hadn't been nominated for awards!

The show itself is nominated in the Drama category; candidates at this stage is always large, with this year's nominees covering a variety of genres from both the UK and USA: The Fall, The White Queen, Shetland, Love and Marriage, New Tricks, Doc Martin, Foyle's War, Jonathan Creek, Poirot, Silent Witness, Death In Paradise, Scott & Bailey, The Village, Call The Midwife, Under The Dome, DCI Banks, Revolution, Endeavour, Ripper Street, Vera, Homeland, Lewis, What Remains, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, Luther, Last Tango in Halifax, Broadchurch, Midsomer Murders, Law & Order: UK, Holby City, Downton Abbey, Casualty, Mr Selfridge and The Syndicate.

This year, the Drama Performance category is combined, meaning that Matt Smith and Jenna Coleman are nominated against each other, not to mention facing a wealth of talent: Jim Carter (Downton Abbey), Joanna Vanderham (The Paradise), Jeremy Piven (Mr Selfridge), Claire Danes (Homeland), Emun Elliott (The Paradise), Mark Addy (The Syndicate), Emilia Fox (Silent Witness), Rosie Marcel (Holby City), Alison Steadman (Love and Marriage), Maxine Peake (The Village), Sunetra Sarker (Casualty), Rebecca Ferguson (The White Queen), Max Irons (The White Queen), Anne Reid (Last Tango In Halifax), Caroline Catz (Doc Martin), Miranda Hart (Call The Midwife), Larry Lamb (Love and Marriage), Maggie Smith (Downton Abbey), Jessica Raine (Call The Midwife), Guy Henry (Holby City), Sarah Lancashire (Last Tango in Halifax), Martin Clunes (Doc Martin), John Simm (The Village), Siobhan Finneran (The Syndicate), Katherine Kelly (Mr Selfridge), Hugh Bonneville (Downton Abbey), Michelle Dockery (Downton Abbey), Derek Jacobi (Last Tango in Halifax), Suzanne Packer (Casualty), and Damian Lewis (Homeland).

Other Who names include David Tennant, nominated for his role as DI Alex Hardy in Broadchurch within the TV Detectives category, which also features Bradley Walsh, Lesley Sharp, Olivia Colman, and Suranne Jones (not to mention Benedict Cumberbatch for Sherlock!). Lesley Dunlop has been nominated in the Serial Drama Performance category for her role as Brenda Walker in Emmerdale. Alexander Armstrong is nominated in the Entertainment Presenter category.

Voting is open until 11th October, with the shortlist of up to four from each category announced for the final vote in early January. The ceremony itself will be broadcast live on ITV1 from the O2 in London on 22nd January 2014.

Doctor Who failed to win any awards in 2013, in spite of the series being nominated for Drama, Matt Smith for Drama Performance: Male, and Karen Gillan for Drama Performance: Female (both actors won their respective categories in 2012).

A complete list of winners over the years can be found on the NTA website.

Vote in the National Television Awards 2014