Silva Screen: forthcoming releasesBookmark and Share

Friday, 19 July 2013 - Reported by Chuck Foster
Silva Screen has announced the next of its 50th Anniversary soundtrack collection on CD, with the release of the score of the final story to be recorded in the original run of Doctor Who, the Sylvester McCoy adventure Ghost Light.

Ghost Light (soundtrack) (Credit: Silva Screen)Doctor Who - Ghost Light

Mark Ayres' dark and mysterious synth score to Marc Platt’s 3-part TV series with Sylvester McCoy as the Seventh Doctor.

Originally released on Silva Screen Records in 1993, in this new version Ghost Light is freshly re-mastered from the original analogue stereo master tapes with consecutive cues combined into longer tracks. Also included are additional tracks previously omitted and the complete initial "demo" version of the music for Part One. The album presents the score
in story order.

Though the score features small themes and motifs, the musical narrative relies on "sounds" rather than "themes". The composer juxtaposes the tender sound of strings, harp, clarinet with native drums and unearthly sounds of pipes, distorted gong, organ and choir.

Ghost Light was the final production of the series' original 26-year run.

A television composer best known for scoring the original series of Doctor Who, Mark Ayres' work encompasses the era of Sylvester McCoy as the Seventh Doctor and includes scores for The Greatest Show in the Galaxy, Ghost Light, and The Curse of Fenric. Ayres was also part of BBC’s unofficial Doctor Who Restoration Team and has done much of audio restoration from the later VHS Doctor Who releases.

  1. Doctor Who (Opening Theme)
  2. The Madhouse
  3. Redvers, I Presume?
  4. Uncharted Territory
  5. Heart of the Interior
  6. Gwendoline
  7. The Fang of a Cave Bear
  8. Enter Josiah
  9. Indoor Lightning
  10. Nimrod Observed
  11. Time to Emerge
  12. Burnt Toast
  13. Ace's Adventures Underground
  14. Where is Mamma?
  15. Loss of Control
  16. The Way to the Zoo
  17. The Hungry Inspector
  18. The Memory Teller
  19. Lighting the Touchpaper
  20. Homo Victorianus Ineptus
  21. Out of the Shadows
  22. Light Enlightened
  23. Tropic of Perivale
  24. Tricks of the Light
  25. Judgement in Stone
  26. Requiem
  27. Passing Thoughts
  28. Doctor Who (Closing Theme)
  29. The Madhouse (alternative)
  30. Redvers, I Presume? (alternative)
  31. Uncharted Territory (alternative)
  32. Heart of the Interior (alternative)
  33. Gwendoline (alternative)
  34. The Fang of a Cave Bear (alternative)
  35. Enter Josiah (alternative)
  36. Indoor Lightning (alternative)
  37. Nimrod Observed (alternative)
  38. Time to Emerge (alternative)
  39. Burnt Toast (alternative)
  40. Ace's Adventures Underground (alternative)

The CD is due to be released on 26th August 2013.

Also coming out on 19th August is a 12" vinyl release of the Series 1+2 album, originally released on CD in 2006. The two records include all of the tracks from the original. Meanwhile, music from the most recent television series is due to be released as a two-disc collection on CD later in the Autumn.

Series 1 & 2 (soundtrack) (Credit: Silva Screen) Series 7 (soundtrack) (Credit: Silva Screen)

UPDATE - 15th AUGUST: Silva Screen has announced that because of a problem at the factory the release date of the vinyl albums has been delayed, with Monday 2nd September now the likely date.

Win a copy of Ghost Light!

Thanks to Silva Screen we have three copies of the CD for our readers to win. To be in with a chance, simply answer this question:
In Ghost Light, when Ace discovers that the Doctor has taken her back to the house she hated from her youth, she asks if he too has things he hates - name one of his responses.
Please send your answer to with the subject line "We all have a universe of our own terrors to face", along with your name, address, and where you read about this competition. The competition is open worldwide, and the closing date will be on 24th August 2013. Only one entry per household will be accepted.