Waters of Mars wins HugoBookmark and Share

Sunday, 5 September 2010 - Reported by Marcus
Waters of MsrsThe 2009 Doctor Who story The Waters of Mars has won the 2010 Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form.

The story was part of the Specials series covering the gap year between Series 4 and Series 5. It was written by Russell T Davies and Phil Ford and directed by Graeme Harper. The story starred David Tennant as the tenth Doctor along with Lindsay Duncan who played Adelaide Brooke.

The award was announced at Aussiecon 4 in Melbourne earlier on Sunday. The Waters of Mars beat two other Doctor Who stories, The Next Doctor and Planet of the Dead as well as the American series Dollhouse and Flash Forward to triumph at the awards.

The Hugo Awards are given every year for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year. The award is named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories. Hugo Awards have been presented every year since 1955

The award is the first for Russell T Davies. Doctor Who has previously won three Hugo Awards, all for stories penned by current Showrunner Steven Moffat. In 2006 The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances in 2007 The Girl in the Fireplace and in 2008 for Blink.

FILTER: - Specials - Russell T Davies - Awards/Nominations