Portal Awards Nominations 2010Bookmark and Share

Saturday, 12 June 2010 - Reported by Chuck Foster
Both Doctor Who and Torchwood have been nominated in several categories for this year's Portal Awards, held by Airlock Alpha.

Best Actor/Television sees Jack vs Doctor as both David Tennant and John Barrowman are up for the award; they are joined by Matthew Fox (Lost), Zachary Levi (Chuck), and Eddie McClintock (Warehouse 13).

Both shows also appear in the Best Actress/Television category, with Karen Gillan and Eve Myles combatting against Paula Malcomson (Caprica), Amanda Tapping (Sanctuary), and Anna Torv (Fringe).

The awards wouldn't be right without the 10th Doctor's final companion, with Bernard Cribbins nominated for Best Supporting Actor/Television; he's vying for the award with Robert Carlyle (Stargate: Universe), Enver Gjokaj (Dollhouse), John Noble (Fringe), and Terry O'Quinn (Lost).

Alex Kingston is nominated for her appearance and River Song in Time of Angels for the Best Special Guest/Television nominations, with her competition being James Callis (FlashForward), Felicia Day (Dollhouse), Leonard Nimoy (Fringe), and Michael Shanks (Smallville).

Finally, both Doctor Who and Torchwood trade blows in both the Best Series/Television and Best Episode/Television nominations, with other shows in the categories including Smallville, Fringe, Stargate: Universe, and Lost.

Voting for the awards commences on the Airlock Alpha website from 25th June, with readers able to vote once a day for the following 30 days. The winners will be announced in August.