Doctor Who sweeps Welsh BAFTAsBookmark and Share

Saturday, 28 April 2007 - Reported by Anthony Weight

Doctor Who has dominated the BAFTA Cymru Awards for the second year in succession, winning eight of the thirteen categories in which it was nominated. As reported earlier this month on Outpost Gallifrey, both Doctor Who and its spin-off series Torchwood were nominated for a slew of the awards, given by the Welsh branch of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts, which celebrates achievements by Welsh productions for the big and small screens.

The winners were announced at a ceremony held in the Cardiff International Arena this evening. Doctor Who won the categories for Best Actor (David Tennant), Best Screenwriter (Russell T Davies), best lighting director - not camera (Mark Hutchings); best editor (Crispin Green); best original music soundtrack (Murray Gold); best make-up (Sheelagh WellsNeill Gorton); best costume (Louise Page), and best director: drama (Graeme Harper).

However, the series lost out to Torchwood for Best Drama, with the spin-off also picking up the Best Actress award (Eve Myles), best director of photography: drama (Mark Waters), and best design (Edward Thomas).

In the BBC News report, Controller of BBC Wales Menna Richards is quoted as saying: "I'm very proud indeed of the success of all those who've made such wonderful programmes for BBC Wales. It's great to see BAFTA Cymru recognising the talents of all those who make programmes of the highest possible standards."

(Thanks to Graham Brown.)

FILTER: - Murray Gold - Awards/Nominations - Series 2/28