Bookmark and Share AudioGo: Doctor Who release update

8/11/2011 03:31:00 pm - Reported by Chuck Foster

AudioGo have announced the release of two more titles in their range of Doctor Who spoken stories, featuring the Eleventh Doctor, Amy and Rory. Plus the third collection of the 'lost' television adventures with linking narration has recently been released, alongside the Target adaptation of Fury From The Deep.
Blackout (available for pre-order)
by Oli Smith
read by Stuart Milligan
published 8th September 2011

November 9th, 1965. New York City is plunged into darkness, a taxi driver has bad dreams, and an invisible spacecraft hovers ominously above the skyline.

As an extra-terrestrial disease sweeps the populace, Amy and Rory must sabotage the city's water supply to slow the spread of infection, and a dying Doctor holds another man's life in his hands.

With the death toll rising, and his companions stalked through the streets by alien businessmen, the Doctor is forced to make a terrible decision.

How far must he go to save his friends?
Touched by an Angel
by Jonathan Morris
read by Clare Corbett
published 8th September 2011

In 2003, Rebecca Whitaker died in a road accident. Her husband Mark is still grieving. He receives a battered envelope, posted eight years ago, containing a set of instructions with a simple message: "You can save her."

As Mark is given the chance to save Rebecca, it's up to the Doctor, Amy and Rory to save the whole world. Because this time the Weeping Angels are using history itself as a weapon...

The Lost Episodes - Collection 3 (available to order)
published 4th August 2011

Dozens of Doctor Who TV episodes are lost as visual film recordings - but they survive as audio soundtracks, digitally remastered with additional linking narration by members of the original cast. This handsome box set collects together five adventures which are either wholly or partially lost from the TV archives, but which can be enjoyed in their entirety on audio.

Presented in chronological order of transmission, the stories in this collection are "The
Smugglers", "The Tenth Planet", "The Power of the Daleks", "The Highlanders", "The Underwater Menace" and "The Moonbase", and feature William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton as the first and second Doctors.

They are presented along with bonus interviews with Anneke Wills, who played Polly in the TV series, as well as a special BBC Radio 3 feature Dance of the Daleks which looks at the role of incidental music in Doctor Who.
Fury From The Deep (available to order)
by Victor Pemberton
read by David Troughton
published July 2011

In the dark, uncharted depths of the North Sea it has lurked, growing in strength, growing in size, and striking terror into the hearts of mariners down the untold centuries. Landing near a North Sea gas refinery off the east coast of England, the Tardis crew are immediately accused of sabotage. Several rig crews have mysteriously vanished, strange pressure build-ups have been detected, and in the refinery's pipelines the Doctor can hear the steady, rhythmic beat of - what? Soon the Doctor, Jamie and Victoria will find themselves at the unrelenting mercy of the deadliest and most terrifying foe they have ever encountered...