Bookmark and Share New Press Release, plus New Writer

12/06/2005 03:29:00 pm - Reported by Shaun Lyon

December 6, 2005 • Posted By Shaun Lyon
The BBC Press Office has issued a new press release on the BBC's Winter/Spring 2006 highlights, which includes a section about the new Doctor Who series. The press release is listed below.
The most notable item within the press release is that Stephen Fry is no longer listed as a writer; this seems to confirm prior rumors that his episode, said to be heavily reliant on special effects, would be moved to series three. Instead, a new name is listed, Matthew Graham, among whose credits are writing for "Hustle," "Spooks," "EastEnders," "This Life," "P.O.W.," "Byker Grove" and co-creating and writing the upcoming series "Life on Mars". It is very likely, therefore, that Graham will be writing episode 11 in Fry's stead.
The wait is over! David Tennant, the tenth Time Lord to grace the TARDIS, and his feisty young companion, Rose Tyler (Billie Piper), return in the eagerly anticipated new series of Doctor Who.

Together, the Doctor and Rose travel through time and space, battling a host of new and returning aliens and monsters, including the dreaded Cybermen, an evil race of Cat Women, the sinister Krillitanes and maybe even a Dalek!

The new series, which promises to be even scarier than the last, sees the welcome return of two of the Doctor's favourite and most iconic companions, Sarah Jane Smith (Elisabeth Sladen) and his faithful robot dog, K9.

Rose's mum, Jackie (Camille Coduri), and her hapless boyfriend, Mickey (Noel Clarke), also return.

Viewers join the Doctor and Rose as they embark upon an adventure that takes them further into the future than ever before, to a glittering paradise where the grass smells of apples – but where old and new terrors lurk.

Then it's off to the Highlands for a Royal appointment with Queen Victoria (Pauline Collins).

Doctor Who is the creative vision of lead writer Russell T Davies. The series' other writers include Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss, Toby Whithouse, Tom Macrae, Matt Jones and Matthew Graham.

Doctor Who is the winner of three National Television Awards.