Bookmark and Share AudioGo: September Releases

8/01/2012 08:04:00 pm - Reported by Chuck Foster

AudioGoAudioGo have released details on audio titles in their spoken word range due to be released in September.

The latest adventure for the Eleventh Doctor will be The Empty House, written by Simon Guerrier and read by Raquel Cassidy; meanwhile, Torchwood continues with The Exodus Code written by Captain Jack himself, John Barrowman with his sister Carole. For the classic series, this month's Target novelisation will be The Highlanders read by Anneke Wills, whilst the soundtrack release of Horror of Fang Rock will include linking narration by Louise Jameson. Finally, the complete series of Serpents Quest starring Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor is to be released as a boxed set.

The Doctor Who adventures will be released on CD from 6th September, and can also be purchased as downloads from AudioGo from 1st September; Torchwood: The Exodus Code will be released in both formats from 13th September.

The Empty House
Written by Simon Guerrier
Read by Raquel Cassidy
Released 6th September 2012 (CD) (pre-order)

An exciting audio exclusive adventure for the 11th Doctor (as played by Matt Smith) and his companions Amy and Rory. When the TARDIS materialises in rural England in the 1920s, the Doctor and his friends discover a crashed spaceship nearby. It’s the beginning of a nightmarish adventure for them.

The story is read by Raquel Cassidy, who played Miranda Cleaves in the TV story The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People, with original sound design.
Torchwood: The Exodus Code
Written by John and Carole Barrowman
Reader tbc
Released 6th September 2012 (CD) (pre-order)

A brand new novel written by John Barrowman (Captain Jack in the hit BBC TV series) and Carole E. Barrowman. It starts with a series of unexplained events - earth tremors across the globe and people being driven insane by their heightened and scrambled senses. Then the world starts to notice - the number one Twitter trend is #TheLoco. Governments and scientists are bewildered and silent. The world needs Torchwood, but there's not much of Torchwood left. Captain Jack has tracked the problem to its source: a village in Peru, where he's uncovered evidence of alien involvement. Back in Cardiff, Gwen Cooper has discovered something lurking inside the Torchwood software - something alien and somehow connected to Jack. If the world is to be restored, she has to warn him - but she's quickly becoming a victim of the madness, too!
The Highlanders
Written by Gerry Davis
Read by Anneke Wills
Released 6th September 2012 (CD) (pre-order)

An unabridged reading of a classic Doctor Who novelisation, the Second Doctor (as played by Patrick Troughton) and his companions Ben and Polly find that the TARDIS have brought them to Culloden in 1746, during the famous battle between the Scots and the English. There they become embroiled in events and meet a new friend: Jamie McCrimmon.

The story is read by Anneke Wills, who played Polly in the original TV episodes, with original sound design.
Horror of Fang Rock
Written by Terrance Dicks
Narrated by Louise Jameson
Released 6th September 2012 (CD) (pre-order)

A narrated full-cast TV soundtrack of a classic 1977 adventure, starring Tom Baker as the Doctor. The TARDIS arrives on Fang Rock, somewhere off the South Coast of England in the early 1900s, just as the lighthouse comes under attack by an unseen force. The Doctor and Leela join the lighthouse keepers in a battle for survival through the night.

Louise Jameson, who played Leela in the TV series, provides linking narration, and recalls her time on Doctor Who in a 20 minute bonus interview. Also included are pdf files of the original TV camera scripts.
Serpent Quest - The Complete Series
Written by Paul Magrs
Released 6th September 2012 (CD)

A handsome box set containing five multi-voice adventures for the 4th Doctor, played by Tom Baker, with his companions Mrs Wibbsey and Mike Yates. The guest cast includes Susan Jameson, David Troughton, Richard Franklin, Michael Jayston, Simon Shepherd, Terrence Hardiman, Joanna David, Sophie Ward, Andrew Sachs, and Nerys Hughes. Written by Paul Magrs, with full sound design.