Bookmark and Share Official Convention: Guest update

2/01/2012 12:07:00 pm - Reported by Chuck Foster

BBC Worldwide have announced a few more of the guests due to appear at the Official Doctor Who Convention in March.

Mark Sheppard, who featured in last year's series as Canton in The Impossible Astronaut and Day of the Moon, will be at the event; he is joined by another familiar face from the last two series in the form of Ian McNeice, who played the Doctor's good friend Winston Churchill in a number of stories (notably Victory of the Daleks and The Wedding of River Song). Also appearing will be Raquel Cassidy, who played Cleaves in the two-part The Rebel Flesh/The Almost People.

Mark Sheppard said of being invited as a guest:
I grew up watching Doctor Who, and the fans are a huge part of what really makes the show so very special. I can't wait to come back to Cardiff for this unprecedented behind-the-scenes event - a unique chance for fans to meet the amazing people responsible for so much of the show we all love and get to experience their talent and creativity in a totally new way.
The three actors join the previously announced headliners Matt Smith and Arthur Darvill, alongside Stuart Milligan (President Nixon, The Impossible Astronaut/Day of the Moon) and Simon Fisher-Becker (Dorium, The Pandorica Opens/A Good Man Goes To War/The Wedding of River Song). Also, as well as the guests recognisable from in front of the camera, the line-up will include Nicholas Briggs - otherwise known as the voice of the Daleks, Cybermen and Judoon amongst many others - and Barnaby Edwards ("chief" Dalek operator).

From behind the scenes, Millennium FX's Neill Gorton has been announced, who joins the extensive behind-the-scenes crew that will be involved in many of the convention's activities, including special effects and pyrotechnic demonstrations, prosthetic masterclasses and Q&A sessions.

Previously announced production personnel of course includes the show's lead writer and convention headliner Steven Moffat, with Marcus Wilson (producer), Stephen Pehrsson (director of photography), Michael Pickwoad (production designer), Caroline Henry and Gary Russell (script editors), Andy Pryor (casting director), Danny Hargreaves (special effects supervisor), and Tom MacRae (writer).