Bookmark and Share Writers' Guild Nomination 2011

9/16/2011 05:44:00 pm - Reported by Chuck Foster

The shortlist for this years Writers' Guild of Great Britain awards have been announced, and Doctor Who has once again been nominated in the Best Television Drama Series category; this is the third year running for the series, an award it has missed out on both other occasions to Being Human, the supernatural drama from Toby Whithouse (who also wrote this coming weekend's Doctor Who adventure, The God Complex).

Writers Steven Moffat, Richard Curtis, Gareth Roberts, Stephen Thompson, Neil Gaiman and Matthew Graham are nominated this time, representing the first half of the series broadcast in Spring. The series is up against The Shadow Line by Hugo Blick, and Accused by Jimmy McGovern, Danny Brocklehurst, Alice Nutter and Esther Wilson.

Steven Moffat is also up for another award, along with Mark Gatiss and Stephen Thompson, for the Best Television Short-Form Drama category for Sherlock; the other nominations are for Eric & Ernie by Peter Bowker, and Exile by Danny Brocklehurst.

The awards ceremony takes place on Wednesday 16th November at the Tabernacle in Notting Hill.

The guild is a trade union for professional writers and the awards are deemed to be special because the work of writers is honoured by their peers and colleagues.